Serbia becomes member of IGC

14 April 20201 min reading

Further to the application received from the Republic of Serbia to accede to the Grains Trade, Convention, 1995 (GTC), the International Grains Council (IGC) confirmed that members have agreed to Serbia’s accession with effect from Wednesday 1 April 2020. “The Council warmly welcomes the Republic of Serbia’s membership. Its participation will help strengthen international cooperation in grains trade,” IGC said in a statement. During the 2019/20 marketing year, the Republic of Serbia produced around 7.5m t. of maize and 2.5m t. of wheat. With average annual maize exports of 2.5m t, the Republic of Serbia is also the world’s eighth-largest maize exporter. It has been designated as an exporting member of the Council. IGC is an intergovernmental organization that seeks to further international cooperation in grains trade; promote expansion, openness and fairness in the grains sector; and contribute to grain market stability and to enhance world food security. The IGC membership currently comprises the following members: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Egypt, European Union, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea (Rep), Morocco, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia (Rep), South Africa, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Vatican City.

Articles in News Category
23 January 20202 min reading

Russia to build grain hub at Syria’s Tartus port

Russian Deputy Prime Minister Yuri Borisov said that Russia will spend $500 million to modernize Sy...

20 July 20193 min reading

Russia’s VTB Bank buys more grain trade infrastructure

Russian state bank VTB, which has been actively buying grain export infrastructure assets, bought a...

05 August 20151 min reading

Satake and Alapala announced strategic partnership

Two leading companies of milling industry, Satake and Alapala announced they signed a strategic par...